top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegeorgeguerrero1797

Week 2

Updated: Mar 11, 2021

Trip to the mountain side, Roman bridge, day of San Juan de Sahagún, light festival, and Bull fighting ring.





My second week in Salamanca was really interesting because I got to learn a lot about the culture and their believes. It all started with a trip to the mountain side which had a beautiful view of the two cathedrals of Salamanca. Along the way, our local group leader told us stories about the city, their traditions, the roman bridge, etc. The day of San Juan de Sahagún was a whole city event in which they celebrate the saint that "protects" the city and the miracles he did for the city and its people. It was interesting to learn that every single city in Spain has a saint and a day to celebrate him/her. "Luz y Vanguardia" was not a program event but I still decided to go and chat with locals while at the same time watch the show. It was in the Plaza Mayor (Main Square) and it was a series of light projections from artists all over the world, from Colombia to Italy. Lastly, I want to talk about the bull fighting ring (Plaza de Toros) which honestly shifted my perspective about this form of art. I was a little skeptical and even saw it as animal cruelty, but the torero (bullfighter) did such an amazing job of explaining it as a form of art and tradition that I completely understood where he was coming from. That was my second week in Salamanca and honestly one of the best of my life.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page